The Foothill Athletic Conference, as it is know today, was formed in 1988. However the roots of the conference can be traced to 1981 when the football-only Conference was formed.

The current Foothill Conference was an offshoot of the Southern California Conference, which included many of the Los Angeles area community colleges. Founding members of the Foothill Conference were Antelope Valley, Citrus, Chaffey, College of the Desert, East Los Angeles, Mt. San Jacinto, Rio Hondo, San Bernardino Valley, and Victor Valley colleges.

Since its founding days, four colleges – East Los Angeles, Citrus, Antelope Valley, and Mt. San Jacinto have left the conference. Barstow College and Cerro Coso College joined later as full time participants.

Currently, the conference offers programs in Baseball, Men's and Women's Basketball, Men's and Women's Cross Country, Men's and Women's Soccer, Softball and Women's Volleyball.

Beginning in the fall of 2013 Foothill Conference institutions will be hosted-out in Men' and Women's Golf, Men's and Women's Tennis, Men's and Women's Track and Field, Men's and Women's Swimming and Diving, and Men's and Women's Water Polo. Additionally, several colleges will participate in the Southern California Wrestling Association and the Southern California Football Association.

The mission of the Foothill Athletic Conference continues to be the encouragement of excellence among all participants in intercollegiate athletics while maintaining high standards of sportsmanship and scholarship.

June 2013