Foothill Athletic Conference to cease operations effective July 1, 2016

Foothill Athletic Conference to cease operations effective July 1, 2016

After an 28 year run the Foothill Athletic Conference is disbanding on July 1st, with all the seven schools to be absorbed into other conferences by the 2016-2017 season, in a statement by Conference Commissioner, Dean Crowley, on Monday.

The final proposal, for where the current Foothill Conference schools did end up, was a long and arduous process. Nearly a dozen proposals were presented to an assembled group of Southern California Conference Commissioners and Athletic Directors in July of 2015. Full sized maps and travel charts were reviewed; attempts were made to answer concerns related to the cost of travel and other considerations.

On November 6th, 2015, the CCCAA Board of Directors voted to approve the findings of the review committee at the CCCAA Fall Conference in Sacramento. With that decision, Victor Valley and Barstow will move to the Western State Conference, Chaffey and Rio Hondo are heading to the South Coast Conference, Cerro Coso will be moved to Northern California and will compete in the Central Valley Conference and San Bernardino Valley and College of the Desert will move into the Pacific Coast Conference.

"I think we can be very competitive in the Pacific Coast Conference," commented San Bernardino Valley Director of Athletics, David Rubio. "We're looking forward to it … We might have to drive a little farther, but the competition is going to be better."

Following the 2012-2013 school year, two schools moved out of the Foothill Conference, reducing one of the smallest Conferences in the state to seven teams, when Antelope Valley moved to the Western State Conference and Mt. San Jacinto left for the Pacific Coast.

Rubio remarked, that since each school is required to have a certain number of contests to be eligible for the post-season, "scheduling non-Conference games for the remaining seven schools in the Foothill, and trying to fill out each sport's full complement of contests, proved difficult and logistics became more troublesome," after the loss of Antelope Valley and Mt. San Jacinto.

The current Foothill Athletic Conference was formed in 1988, but actually started as a football-only conference in 1981.

The Foothill Conference was an offshoot of the Southern California Conference, which included many of the Los Angeles-area community colleges. Founding members included Antelope Valley, Citrus, Chaffey, College of the Desert, East Los Angeles, Mt. San Jacinto, Rio Hondo, San Bernardino Valley and Victor Valley colleges.

Information, Photos & Story provided by Foothill Conference Sports Information.